The Berlin Stories

#ad
New Directions #ad - Norris and goodbye to Berlin, which are recognized today as classics of modern fiction. Norris, the improbable old debauchee mysteriously caught between the Nazis and the Communists; plump Fräulein Schroeder, who thinks an operation to reduce the scale of her Büste might relieve her heart palpitations; and the distinguished and doomed Jewish family, the Landauers.

Isherwood magnificently captures 1931 berlin: charming, with its avenues and cafés; marvelously grotesque, with its nightlife and dreamers; dangerous, with its vice and intrigue; powerful and seedy, with its mobs and millionaires—this is the period when Hitler was beginning his move to power. A classic of 20th-century fiction, The Berlin Stories inspired the Broadway musical and Oscar-winning film Cabaret.

The Berlin Stories #ad - First published in the 1930s, The Berlin Stories contains two astonishing related novels, The Last of Mr. The berlin stories is inhabited by a wealth of characters: the unforgettable Sally Bowles, whose misadventures in the demimonde were popularized on the American stage and screen by Julie Harris in I Am A Camera and Liza Minnelli in Cabaret; Mr.

#ad



Christopher and His Kind: A Biography FSG Classics

#ad
North Point Press #ad - For the next four years, belgium, holland, he wandered around Europe-through Greece, Denmark, Portugal, Spain, and France-with a German boy named Heinz. The characters in the book include W. H. But one does not need to be familiar with his body of work to appreciate the powerful and compelling story he tells here.

Auden, stephen Sper, and E. M. It covers ten years in the writer's life-from 1929, to the beginning of 1939, when Isherwood left England to spend a week in Berlin and decided to stay there indefinitely, when he arrived in New York to start a life in the States. The book revealingly contrasts fact with fiction-the real people Isherwood met in Germany with the portraits of them in his two Berlin novels, fictionalized to an even greater degree, who then appeared again, in I Am a Camera and Cabaret.

Christopher and His Kind: A Biography FSG Classics #ad - Isherwood left berlin in 1933, after Hitler came to power. Christopher and His Kind is an intriguing slice of autobiography. Chronicling german refugees and the british colony in portugal, the group Theatre company which performed the three Auden-Isherwood plays and the film studio where he worked and which he used as the setting for Prater Violet, Christopher and His Kind is an engrossing and powerfully rendered portrait of a decade in the life of a major writer.

Forster as well as the literary circles of Somerset Maugham and Virginia Woolf.

#ad



Goodbye to Berlin

#ad
New Directions #ad - Isherwood magnificently captures 1931 berlin: charming, with its vice and intrigue; powerful and seedy, with its avenues and cafés; marvelously grotesque, with its nightlife and dreamers; dangerous, with its mobs and millionaires — this was the period when Hitler was beginning his move to power. Isherwood's classic story of berlin in the 1930s - and the inspiration for Cabaret - now in a stand-alone edition.

First published in 1934, goodbye to berlin has been popularized on stage and screen by Julie Harris in I Am a Camera and Liza Minelli in Cabaret. Goodbye to berlin is inhabited by a wealth of characters: the unforgettable and “divinely decadent”Sally Bowles; plump Frau¨lein Schroeder, who considers reducing her Bu¨steto relieve her heart palpitations; Peter and Otto, a gay couple struggling to come to terms with their relationship; and the distinguished and doomed Jewish family, the Landauers.

#ad



Little Man, What Now?

#ad
Melville House #ad - The story of a young couple struggling to survive the German economic collapse was a worldwide sensation and was made into an acclaimed Hollywood movie produced by Jews, leading Hitler to ban Fallada’s work from being translated. This is the book that led to Hans Fallada’s downfall with the Nazis.

Nonetheless, as the times literary supplement notes, it remains, “the novel of a time in which public and private merged even for those whowanted to stay at home and mind their own business. This is a Hybrid Book. Melville house hybridbooks combine print and digital media into an enhanced reading experience by including with each title additional curated material called Illuminations — maps, illustrations, photographs, and further writing about the author and the book.

Little Man, What Now? #ad - The melville house illuminations are free with the purchase of any title in the HybridBook series, no matter the format. Purchasers of the print version can obtain the illuminations for a given title simply by scanning the QR code found in the back of each book, or by following the url also given in the back of the print book,  then downloading the Illumination in whatever format works best for you.

Purchasers of the digital version receive the appropriate Illuminations automatically as part of the ebook edition.

#ad



The Making of Cabaret

#ad
Oxford University Press #ad - The Making of Cabaret #ad - With nearly 40 illustrations, and a bibliography, full cast credits, The Making of Cabaret will appeal to musical theatre aficionados, theatre specialists, and students and performers of musical theatre. A handy and engaging chronicle, this book is the most detailed production history to date of the original Broadway version of Cabaret, and then the Broadway musical, showing how the show evolved from Christopher Isherwood's Berlin stories, a British film adaptation, into John van Druten's stage play, conceived and directed by Harold Prince as an early concept musical.

#ad



The Artificial Silk Girl: A Novel

#ad
Other Press #ad - And before bridget Jones was The Artificial Silk Girl. Today, more than seven decades later, the story of this quintessential "material girl" remains as relevant as ever, as an accessible new translation brings this lost classic to light once more. In 1931, a young woman writer living in germany was inspired by Anita Loos's Gentlemen Prefer Blondes to describe pre-war Berlin and the age of cinematic glamour through the eyes of a woman.

Only one english translation was published, in Great Britain, before the book disappeared in the chaos of the ensuing war. Like isherwood and brecht, Keun revealed the dark underside of Berlin's "golden twenties" with empathy and honesty. Unfortunately, a nazi censorship board banned Keun's work in 1933 and destroyed all existing copies of The Artificial Silk Girl.

The Artificial Silk Girl: A Novel #ad - Other press is pleased to announce the republication of The Artificial Silk Girl, elegantly translated by noted Germanist Kathie von Ankum, and with a new introduction by Harvard professor Maria Tatar. The resulting novel, the artificial silk girl, became an acclaimed bestseller and a masterwork of German literature, in the tradition of Christopher Isherwood's Berlin Stories and Bertolt Brecht's Three Penny Opera.

Before sex and the City there was Bridget Jones.

#ad



Book of Clouds

#ad
Grove Press, Black Cat #ad - Through weiss, as a child in the gdr, took solace in the sky’s constant shape-shifting, a meteorologist who, she meets Jonas, an antidote to his grim and unyielding reality. Having escaped her overbearing family a continent away, Tatiana settles in Berlin and cultivates solitude while distancing herself from the city’s past.

Book of clouds is a haunting, masterfully wrought debut novel about a young woman adrift in Berlin, violence, where a string of fateful encounters leads to romance, and revelation.  . Unfolding with the strange, book of clouds is a profound portrait of a city forever in flux, charged logic of a dream, and of the myths we cling to in order to give shape to our lives.

Book of Clouds #ad - Yet the phantoms of berlin—seeping in through the floorboards of her apartment, lingering in the abandoned subterranea—are more alive to her than the people she passes on her daily walks. As their three paths intersect and merge, the contours of all their worlds change, culminating in an act of violence that will leave none of them untouched.

When she takes a job transcribing notes for the reclusive historian Doktor Weiss, her life in Berlin becomes more complex—and more perilous.

#ad



A Single Man: A Novel Picador Modern Classics

#ad
Farrar, Straus and Giroux #ad - He is determined to persist in the routines of his former life. Behind his british reserve, tides of grief, rage, and loneliness surge—but what is revealed is a man who loves being alive despite all the everyday injustices. When christopher isherwood's a single Man first appeared, sympathetic, it shocked many with its frank, and moving portrayal of a gay man in maturity.

. George is a gay middle-aged English professor, adjusting to solitude after the tragic death of his young partner. A single man follows him over the course of an ordinary twenty-four hours. Isherwood's favorite of his own novels, it now stands as a classic lyric meditation on life as an outsider. Welcome to sunny suburban 1960s Southern California.

#ad



Down There on a Visit: A Novel FSG Classics

#ad
Farrar, Straus and Giroux #ad - Consisting of four accounts of encounters with four male characters, each of them visited by a different christopher isherwood, and each set in a different time and place—Berlin in the 1920s overlapping the time period of the Berlin Stories, the Greek Isles in the early 1930s, and its implications for love, London in the late 1930s and California in 1940—this acclaimed novel explores Isherwood's fundamental concerns with the choice of a way of life, sex, spirituality and self-fulfillment.

Down There on a Visit: A Novel FSG Classics #ad - . Published in 1959, when isherwood had already become something of a literary rock star, Down There on a Visit is a very funny but also sad and deeply personal book that charts Isherwood's life of carnal indulgence and his first interlude with what would become a serious involvement with Eastern mysticism.

#ad



Mr Norris Changes Trains

#ad
New Directions #ad - Like its companion novel, goodbye to Berlin, Mr Norris Changes Trains offers unforgettable characters struggling in the vortex as the Nazis rise to power. He also sells his friends. So begins a friendship conducted in the seedier quarters of the city, and his dominatrix girlfriend, his creditors, where Norris runs a dubious import-export business and lives in excited fear of his bullying secretary, Anni.

Mr Norris Changes Trains #ad - As the worldwide economic depression strangles the masses and the Communists make a desperate stand against Fascism and war, spy, Norris sells himself as political orator, and double agent. Two englishmen meeting on a train to berlin in 1930 kick off one of isherwood’s most enduring novelsOn a train to Berlin in late 1930, William Bradshaw locks eyes with Arthur Norris, an irresistibly comical fellow Englishman wearing a rather obvious wig and nervous about producing his passport at the frontier.

#ad